November Projects

It’s been a little while between posts now (mainly because I’ve been lazy) so I thought I’d show you some new projects I’ve been working on, now that the Summer CAL blanket has been finished.

Firstly, I’ve started the ‘Around the Bases’ CAL, which is a crochet-along that uses any feature square you choose for the centre of the blanket.  I’ve chosen the enchanted garden square by Courtney Laube, which is a nice combination of a crocodile stitch flower and Sophie’s garden square.  It took a while to finish the centre square, but I’m finally onto the around-the-bases parts; currently working through the 3rd inning.  As you can see, I’m using Cascade 220 yarn again, which is what I used on the Sophie’s Universe blanket.  I think I’m in love with this yarn.

151105_ATB_progress 151105_ATB_progress1

The other main crochet project I’m working on at the moment is a chocolate-coloured queen-sized afghan for my bed.  I’m using a small square pattern from Spincushions, and the yarn is a wonderful undyed, all natural Tasmanian wool.  It’s expensive but amazing to work with and I love the thought of a whole heap of chocolate coloured sheep running around somewhere!  Photos of this project to come.

Finally….I finished a sock!  The foot section alone took me all of Saturday and some of Sunday to finish, but it looks and feels great and it fits perfectly!  I’m pretty satisfied to report that for my first sock and first finished knitted item, I can’t find any major mistakes.  Happy days!  The only depressing thought now is that I’ve still got to complete the second sock before this sock is useful, which means all of that effort all over again….sigh.  The last image below is the beginnings of that dreaded second sock.  I figured I’d better start it straight away before I get scared and throw the yarn and the completed sock in my WIP pile in my office cupboard.

151107_Sock 151107_Sock2 151107_Sock3

2 thoughts on “November Projects

  1. I have been toying with making the Around the Bases blanket, your centre square is beautiful. It’s either that or Sophie’s Universe for the New Year. our sock looks like it fits perfectly. I am still on my first sock and yet to turn my heel and I’m already dreading the second. I must learn the two at a time method soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed the heel but picking up the stitches around the gusset (? don’t have the pattern here to refer to) was hard for me since I’m used to having a hook on the end of my tools! I ended up actually using a very small crochet hook to do this and it was so much less painful than what my little test sock was.

      Like

Leave a comment